Digital Works

Pop culture wants and needs to be experienced. That’s why Pop-Kultur’s Live programme is the festival’s main focus. Every year, the festival offers its attendees the widest possible range of sounds and styles from all over the world with numerous concerts and DJ sets. Pop-Kultur values internationality and diversity, promotes exchange and, above all, have fun. We aim to confront audiences with unexpected experiences and unknown music from all over the world.

But what does that mean in 2021? It means that we invite a number of acts to join us in coming up with exciting ways to present audio-visual concepts suited to our new global circumstances. The Digital Works are shot professionally on location all over the world and are as integral to the festival as the live concerts and our traditional Commissioned Works. And, of course, there will once again be talks and films to help shape Pop-Kultur’s diverse programme.

The Pop-Kultur Digital Works are funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe of the State of Berlin with support from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) in the programme »Strengthening the Innovative Potential of Culture (INP II).«

The Pop-Kultur Digital Works International are supported by Initiative Musik gGmbH with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media.

#digitalwork

Digital Works

Popkultur will und muss erlebt werden. Deshalb steht das Live-Programm von Pop-Kultur auch im Mittelpunkt. Was aber heißt Live? Ganz einfach: dass das Festival seinem Publikum jedes Jahr mit zahlreichen Konzerten und DJ-Sets die größtmögliche Bandbreite von Sounds und Stilen anbietet. Pop-Kultur legt Wert auf Internationalität und Vielfalt, will den Austausch fördern und vor allem Spaß machen. Unser Anliegen ist es, unsere Besucher:innen mit unerwarteten Erfahrungen und unbekannter Musik einer internationalen Community zu konfrontieren.

Und konkret 2021? Es heißt, dass wir eine Reihe von Künstler:innen einladen, mit uns spannende und den neuen Umständen zeitgemäße audio-visuelle Konzepte umzusetzen. Diese Digital Works werden professionell vor Ort und somit überall auf der Welt aufgenommen und sind als internationale Beiträge genauso Teil des Festivals wie die Livekonzerte oder die Commissioned Works, unsere traditionellen Auftragswerke. Und natürlich prägen auch Talks und Filme erneut das vielseitige Programm von Pop-Kultur.

Pop-Kultur Digital Works werden gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa des Landes Berlin aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) im Programm »Stärkung des Innovationspotentials in der Kultur II (INP II)«.

Pop-Kultur Digital Works werden gefördert durch die Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft mbH mit Projektmitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.

Digital Works 2021 Premieren:

27.07 Girlpool: »Faultline«
31.07 Ian Isiah: »Precious Lord«
07.08 she_skin: »As If It Was All 4U«
14.08 Dlina Volny: »Tomorrow«
21.08 La Même Gang: »Ghana Boys«

#digitalwork