A white woman with slim glasses, brown over-shoulder long hair stands with folded arms in front of a glass window. She wears a black tight turtleneck sweater, black pants and a brooch at heart level. Sign Libra is leaning against the white window frame, she is visible down to her waist and looking at the camera. Behind the window pane you can see large houseplants and a round light source.
Sign Libra
Wednesday, 24.8.2022
21:40 – 22:20, Alte Kantine
> Tickets

Sign Libra

After studying classical music for years, Latvian musician Agata Melnikova embraced her love of atmospheric synthesiser sounds and new age harmonies – the beginning of her career as Sign Libra. Inspired by a BBC nature documentary about the microcosm of the tropical rainforest, she wrote a contemporary ballet piece with her debut »Closer to the Equator«. On her latest album »Sea to Sea«, issued in 2020, each song is dedicated to a different lunar mare, the dark, volcanic lowlands of the moon that early astronomers believed to be lakes. Combining scientific research with childlike imagination, Sign Libra approaches the human relationship to nature with a keen sense of humour.

Supported by Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft mbH with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM) as part of Pop-Kultur Inter:national / Postmigrant Perspectives.

A white woman with slim glasses, brown over-shoulder long hair stands with folded arms in front of a glass window. She wears a black tight turtleneck sweater, black pants and a brooch at heart level. Sign Libra is leaning against the white window frame, she is visible down to her waist and looking at the camera. Behind the window pane you can see large houseplants and a round light source.
Sign Libra

Eine weiße Frau mit schmaler Brille, braunen überschulterlangen Haaren steht mit verschränkten Armen vor einer Glasscheibe. Sie trägt einen schwarzen, engen Rollkragenpullover, schwarze Hosen und eine Brosche auf Herzhöhe. Sign Libra lehnt am weißen Fensterrahmen, ist bis zur Hüfte zu sehen und schaut in die Kamera. Hinter der Scheibe sind große Zimmerpflanzen zu erkennen und eine runde Lichtquelle.
Sign Libra
Mittwoch, 24.8.2022
21:40 – 22:20, Alte Kantine
> Tickets

Sign Libra

Nachdem sie jahrelang klassische Musik studiert hatte, wandte sich die lettische Musikerin Agata Melnikova ihrer Liebe zu atmosphärischen Synthesizerklängen und New-Age-Harmonien zu – der Beginn ihrer Karriere als Sign Libra. Inspiriert von einer BBC-Naturdoku über den Mikrokosmos des tropischen Regenwaldes, schrieb sie mit ihrem Debüt »Closer to the Equator“ ein zeitgenössisches Ballettstück. Auf ihrem aktuellen Album »Sea to Sea« (2020) ist jeder Song einer anderen Mare des Mondes gewidmet, also den vulkanischen dunklen Tiefebenen auf der Mondoberfläche, die Astronomen früher für echte Seen hielten. Indem sie wissenschaftliche Forschung mit kindlicher Fantasie kombiniert, nähert sich Sign Libra der Beziehung des Menschen zur Natur mit einem ausgeprägten Sinn für Humor an.

Eine weiße Frau mit schmaler Brille, braunen überschulterlangen Haaren steht mit verschränkten Armen vor einer Glasscheibe. Sie trägt einen schwarzen, engen Rollkragenpullover, schwarze Hosen und eine Brosche auf Herzhöhe. Sign Libra lehnt am weißen Fensterrahmen, ist bis zur Hüfte zu sehen und schaut in die Kamera. Hinter der Scheibe sind große Zimmerpflanzen zu erkennen und eine runde Lichtquelle.
Sign Libra