Collage of four photos side by side shows young people read as women and men. They are in this order from left to right: Julian Vogels, Kat Frankie, Nene Opoku, Ceren Türkmen. Julian Vogels smiles frontally into the camera with his lips open. He wears a ring as a lip piercing on the left side and a finely trimmed mustache. He stands in front of a black and red background, wears a black T-shirt with white writing on which only the word "Music" can be clearly read and a beige cap. Next to it is a photo of a woman in a grass-green dress made of crinkled fabric. Kat Frankie sits in the shadows, warm spotlight from the left only slightly illuminating her silhouette. She has her head tilted back to the left and is looking down at the camera from above, mouth closed. She wears a short, blond bob haircut. Her bare right arm is reaching for something on her left side, out of view. Nene Opoku sits in front of a screen-like background, a microphone in her right hand. She is wearing a gray shirt, with a black jacket with a collar and zipper over it. She has tied the top of her head into a palm tree hairstyle, her curls at the tips are blond and she wears silver creoles. She has raised her left hand, pressing her thumb against the fingertips of all five fingers. She looks to the left out of the picture and has opened her lips to speak. There is a close-up of half of Ceren Türkmen's face in black and white. She looks at the camera and smiles slightly with her lips closed. Her dark hair falls over her forehead to the left. She wears a fine plug piercing in her nose.
Julian Vogels, Kat Frankie, Nene Opoku, Ceren Türkmen
Thursday, 25.8.2022
20:00 – 21:00, Haus für Poesie
> Tickets

»I Have Seen The Future – Talk über Klima und Pop« (De)

Ceren Türkmen (host), Julian Vogels, Kat Frankie, Nene Opoku

No music on a dead planet. But what is the music industry doing to protect the climate? Couldn’t it and shouldn’t it do a lot more? At festivals, where the rubbish in nature just piles up; in electricity consumption with streaming, in the tours of bands? Institutions also continue to award funding without referencing climate guidelines. More and more musicians have the issue on their radar, as Music Declares Emergency shows: The community of artists, organisations and industry players is raising awareness on the climate emergency and calling for immediate action in order to protect the planet and as part of the climate movement. Team member Julian Vogels will discuss this with Nene Opoku from the Black Earth Collective, who wants to make BIPOC perspectives more visible in the White-dominated climate movement, and with artist Kat Frankie, who addresses the climate crisis and activism in her songs. The panel, which also deals with class issues, will be hosted by sociologist and racism researcher Ceren Türkmen.

Supported by Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft mbH with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM) as part of Pop-Kultur Inter:national / Postmigrant Perspectives.

Collage of four photos side by side shows young people read as women and men. They are in this order from left to right: Julian Vogels, Kat Frankie, Nene Opoku, Ceren Türkmen. Julian Vogels smiles frontally into the camera with his lips open. He wears a ring as a lip piercing on the left side and a finely trimmed mustache. He stands in front of a black and red background, wears a black T-shirt with white writing on which only the word "Music" can be clearly read and a beige cap. Next to it is a photo of a woman in a grass-green dress made of crinkled fabric. Kat Frankie sits in the shadows, warm spotlight from the left only slightly illuminating her silhouette. She has her head tilted back to the left and is looking down at the camera from above, mouth closed. She wears a short, blond bob haircut. Her bare right arm is reaching for something on her left side, out of view. Nene Opoku sits in front of a screen-like background, a microphone in her right hand. She is wearing a gray shirt, with a black jacket with a collar and zipper over it. She has tied the top of her head into a palm tree hairstyle, her curls at the tips are blond and she wears silver creoles. She has raised her left hand, pressing her thumb against the fingertips of all five fingers. She looks to the left out of the picture and has opened her lips to speak. There is a close-up of half of Ceren Türkmen's face in black and white. She looks at the camera and smiles slightly with her lips closed. Her dark hair falls over her forehead to the left. She wears a fine plug piercing in her nose.
Julian Vogels, Kat Frankie, Nene Opoku, Ceren Türkmen

Collage aus vier Fotos nebeneinander zeigt als Frauen und Männer gelesene, junge Personen. Es sind in dieser Reihenfolgen von links nach rechts: Julian Vogels, Kat Frankie, Nene Opoku, Ceren Türkmen. Julian Vogels lächelt mit geöffneten Lippen frontal in die Kamera. Er trägt einen Ring als Lippenpiercing seitlich links und einen fein getrimmten Schnurrbart. Er steht vor einem schwarz-roten Hintergrund, trägt ein schwarzes T-Shirt mit weißer Schrift, auf dem nur das Wort “Music” deutlich zu lesen ist, und ein beiges Cappy. Daneben ist das Foto einer Frau in einem grasgrünen Kleid aus gecrinkeltem Stoff. Kat Frankie sitzt im Schatten, warmes Scheinwerferlicht von links beleuchtet nur leicht ihr Silhouette. Sie hat den Kopf nach links in den Nacken gelegt und schaut von oben mit geschlossenem Mund runter in die Kamera. Sie trägt einen kurzen, blondierten Bob-Haarschnitt. Ihr nackter rechter Arm greift nach etwas auf ihrer linken Seite, außerhalb des Sichtfeldes. Nene Opoku sitzt vor einem leinwandartigem Hintergrund, ein Mikrofon in der rechten Hand. Sie trägt ein graues Shirt, darüber eine schwarze Jacke mit Kragen und Reißverschluss. Das obere Kopfhaar hat sie zu einer Palmenfrisur zusammengebunden, ihre Locken an den Spitzen sind blondiert dazu trägt sie silberne Kreolen. Die linke Hand hat sie angehoben, drückt den Daumen gegen die Fingerkuppen von allen fünf Fingern. Sie schaut nach links aus dem Bild und hat die Lippen zum Sprechen geöffnet. Von Ceren Türkmen ist eine Nahaufnahme von der Hälfte ihres Gesichtes in schwarz-weiß zu sehen. Sie schaut in die Kamera und lächelt leicht mit geschlossenen Lippen. Ihr dunkles Haar fällt über ihre Stirn nach links. Sie trägt ein feines Steckerpiercing in der Nase.
Julian Vogels, Kat Frankie, Nene Opoku, Ceren Türkmen
Donnerstag, 25.8.2022
20:00 – 21:00, Haus für Poesie
> Tickets

»I Have Seen The Future – Talk über Klima und Pop« (De)

Ceren Türkmen (Moderation), Julian Vogels, Kat Frankie, Nene Opoku

No music on a dead planet. Aber was tut die Musikbranche für den Klimaschutz? Und könnte und müsste sie nicht noch viel mehr machen? Bei Festivals, auf denen sich der Müll in der Natur nur so stapelt, beim Stromverbrauch im Streaming, bei den Tourneen von Bands? Auch Institutionen vergeben weiterhin Förderungen, ohne auf Klima-Richtlinien zu verweisen. Immer mehr Musiker*innen haben das Thema auf dem Schirm, wie Music Declares Emergency zeigt: Die Gemeinschaft aus Künstler*innen, Organisationen und Akteur*innen der Musikbranche klärt zum Schutz des Planeten und als Teil der Klimabewegung über den Klima-Notstand auf und fordert zu sofortigem Handeln auf. Teammitglied Julian Vogels diskutiert mit Nene Opoku vom Black Earth Collective, das BIPoC-Perspektiven in der von Weißen dominierten Klimabewegung sichtbarer machen will, und mit der Künstlerin Kat Frankie, die Klimakrise und Aktivismus in ihren Songs thematisiert. Moderiert wird das Panel, bei dem es auch um Klassenfragen geht, von der Soziologin und Rassismusforscherin Ceren Türkmen.

Gefördert durch die Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft mbH mit Projektmitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien (BKM) im Rahmen von Pop-Kultur Inter:national / Postmigrant Perspectives.

Collage aus vier Fotos nebeneinander zeigt als Frauen und Männer gelesene, junge Personen. Es sind in dieser Reihenfolgen von links nach rechts: Julian Vogels, Kat Frankie, Nene Opoku, Ceren Türkmen. Julian Vogels lächelt mit geöffneten Lippen frontal in die Kamera. Er trägt einen Ring als Lippenpiercing seitlich links und einen fein getrimmten Schnurrbart. Er steht vor einem schwarz-roten Hintergrund, trägt ein schwarzes T-Shirt mit weißer Schrift, auf dem nur das Wort “Music” deutlich zu lesen ist, und ein beiges Cappy. Daneben ist das Foto einer Frau in einem grasgrünen Kleid aus gecrinkeltem Stoff. Kat Frankie sitzt im Schatten, warmes Scheinwerferlicht von links beleuchtet nur leicht ihr Silhouette. Sie hat den Kopf nach links in den Nacken gelegt und schaut von oben mit geschlossenem Mund runter in die Kamera. Sie trägt einen kurzen, blondierten Bob-Haarschnitt. Ihr nackter rechter Arm greift nach etwas auf ihrer linken Seite, außerhalb des Sichtfeldes. Nene Opoku sitzt vor einem leinwandartigem Hintergrund, ein Mikrofon in der rechten Hand. Sie trägt ein graues Shirt, darüber eine schwarze Jacke mit Kragen und Reißverschluss. Das obere Kopfhaar hat sie zu einer Palmenfrisur zusammengebunden, ihre Locken an den Spitzen sind blondiert dazu trägt sie silberne Kreolen. Die linke Hand hat sie angehoben, drückt den Daumen gegen die Fingerkuppen von allen fünf Fingern. Sie schaut nach links aus dem Bild und hat die Lippen zum Sprechen geöffnet. Von Ceren Türkmen ist eine Nahaufnahme von der Hälfte ihres Gesichtes in schwarz-weiß zu sehen. Sie schaut in die Kamera und lächelt leicht mit geschlossenen Lippen. Ihr dunkles Haar fällt über ihre Stirn nach links. Sie trägt ein feines Steckerpiercing in der Nase.
Julian Vogels, Kat Frankie, Nene Opoku, Ceren Türkmen