A young Black man sits with his legs wide apart on a chrome-coloured table that stands at the window of a US American restaurant kitchen. A shelf with pots and pans can be glimpsed above him. The scene itself is very dark. The dark red blinds on the two windows behind him are lowered and a light shines outside. There are three bottles of condiments on the windowsill. GoldLink is wearing a black suit, a white shirt, sunglasses and a thick silver necklace. In his right hand he holds a lighter, with his left hand he holds a piece of paper, perhaps a banknote, in front of his face, probably to light a cigarette.
GoldLink
Wednesday, 24.8.2022
22:40 – 23:40, Kesselhaus
> Tickets

GoldLink

GoldLink does what hip-hop has always done: Taking what’s available and turning it into something new, something great. So he mixes the sounds of the street with dubstep, the sensibility of go-go with the African diaspora, his fascination for Edgar Allen Poe and poetry with sprechgesang. Bored by an unorthodox approach to rap, the 29-year-old calls his work »future bounce«. This has earned him recognitions such as two Grammy nominations, and his single »Crew« went quadruple platinum. Among his collaborators have been Rick Rubin, Tyler, the Creator and Kaytranada. GoldLink grew up in the rough neighbourhoods of Washington, D.C. and as a teenager thought he would die in the streets by the time he turned 18. Fortunately, he was wrong and will now be performing at Pop-Kultur!

A young Black man sits with his legs wide apart on a chrome-coloured table that stands at the window of a US American restaurant kitchen. A shelf with pots and pans can be glimpsed above him. The scene itself is very dark. The dark red blinds on the two windows behind him are lowered and a light shines outside. There are three bottles of condiments on the windowsill. GoldLink is wearing a black suit, a white shirt, sunglasses and a thick silver necklace. In his right hand he holds a lighter, with his left hand he holds a piece of paper, perhaps a banknote, in front of his face, probably to light a cigarette.
GoldLink

Ein junger, Schwarzer Mann sitzt breitbeinig auf einem chromfarbenen Tisch, der am Fenster einer US-amerikanischen Gastroküche steht. Über ihm ist ein Regal mit Töpfen und Pfannen zu erahnen. Die Szene an sich wirkt sehr dunkel. An den beiden Fenstern hinter ihm sind die dunkelroten Jalousien heruntergelassen, draußen brennt Licht. Auf dem Fensterbrett stehen drei Flaschen mit Gewürzsoßen. GoldLink trägt einen schwarzen Anzug, ein weißes Hemd, eine Sonnenbrille und eine dicke, silberne Kette um den Hals. In seiner rechten Hand hält er ein Feuerzeug, mit der linken Hand hält er sich ein Stück Papier, vielleicht einen Geldschein, vors Gesicht, um sich wahrscheinlich eine Zigarette anzuzünden.
GoldLink
Mittwoch, 24.8.2022
22:40 – 23:40, Kesselhaus
> Tickets

GoldLink

GoldLink macht das, was Hip-Hop schon immer getan hat: Nehmen, was da ist, und daraus etwas Eigenes, etwas Großartiges entstehen lassen. So mischt er den Sound der Straße mit Dubstep, das Sensible des Go-Go mit der afrikanischen Diaspora, seine Faszination für Edgar Allen Poe und Poesie mit Sprechgesang. „Reiner Rap langweilt mich“, sagt der 29-Jährige und nennt das, was er da macht, „Future Bounce“. Dafür wurde er unter anderem für zwei Grammys nominiert, seine Single „Crew“ erzielte Vierfach-Platin. Er arbeitete mit Rick Rubin zusammen, kollaborierte mit Tyler, The Creator und Kaytranada. Dabei dachte GoldLink, der in den harten Vierteln von Washington, D.C. aufwuchs, als Jugendlicher noch, er würde mit 18 Jahren auf der Straße sterben. Zum Glück hat er sich da getäuscht und tritt nun bei Pop-Kultur auf!

Ein junger, Schwarzer Mann sitzt breitbeinig auf einem chromfarbenen Tisch, der am Fenster einer US-amerikanischen Gastroküche steht. Über ihm ist ein Regal mit Töpfen und Pfannen zu erahnen. Die Szene an sich wirkt sehr dunkel. An den beiden Fenstern hinter ihm sind die dunkelroten Jalousien heruntergelassen, draußen brennt Licht. Auf dem Fensterbrett stehen drei Flaschen mit Gewürzsoßen. GoldLink trägt einen schwarzen Anzug, ein weißes Hemd, eine Sonnenbrille und eine dicke, silberne Kette um den Hals. In seiner rechten Hand hält er ein Feuerzeug, mit der linken Hand hält er sich ein Stück Papier, vielleicht einen Geldschein, vors Gesicht, um sich wahrscheinlich eine Zigarette anzuzünden.
GoldLink