Female person of colour is seen from the side to the hip. Gianni Mae's line of vision is to the left, she has her eyes closed, her mouth slightly open. A mole can be seen on her left cheek, and on her forehead a kind of black half-moon with an upward crescent. Her right wrist rests on her head, so that her hand, with very long, golden fingernails, hangs down behind her left ear. Her other palm rests on her ribcage just below her neck, her fingertips and fingernails touching her neck. She wears a gold ring on her index finger and a gold, wide bracelet on her wrist. She wears a top with different patterns in brown, beige, white and grey made of a light cloth fabric with long sleeves. Her left shoulder is uncovered. Gianni Mae's hair is black and fringed, reaching her shoulders at the nape of her neck. She wears a gold and blue elongated earring. To her left, the back of an antique chair can be seen. In the blur, a reddish-brown panelled wooden door is visible in the background.
Gianni Mae (Creative Direction: Djodjo Pongo; Photo: Marvin Kponvi)
Friday, 26.8.2022
22:20 – 23:00, Maschinenhaus
> Tickets

Gianni Mae

Gianni Mae feels at home all over the world. Born in the early nineties on Curaçao, she went on to found the trio Diva Squad with two friends, rapping in her native language of Papiamentu. At the age of 18 she left the Caribbean island, studied medicine and eventually ended up in Berlin. Here she joined forces with the trap production duo Broke Boys and quickly turns into a champion of the genre in the city. You can hear the influences of Caribbean artists like Rihanna, Sean Paul and Alison Hinds as well as hip-hop stars like OutKast, Pharrell Williams, Missy Elliott and Nicki Minaj in her songs, and yet they have a sound all their own: rousing and hypnotic, sensitive and profound, inspiring and international.

Female person of colour is seen from the side to the hip. Gianni Mae's line of vision is to the left, she has her eyes closed, her mouth slightly open. A mole can be seen on her left cheek, and on her forehead a kind of black half-moon with an upward crescent. Her right wrist rests on her head, so that her hand, with very long, golden fingernails, hangs down behind her left ear. Her other palm rests on her ribcage just below her neck, her fingertips and fingernails touching her neck. She wears a gold ring on her index finger and a gold, wide bracelet on her wrist. She wears a top with different patterns in brown, beige, white and grey made of a light cloth fabric with long sleeves. Her left shoulder is uncovered. Gianni Mae's hair is black and fringed, reaching her shoulders at the nape of her neck. She wears a gold and blue elongated earring. To her left, the back of an antique chair can be seen. In the blur, a reddish-brown panelled wooden door is visible in the background.
Gianni Mae (Creative Direction: Djodjo Pongo; Photo: Marvin Kponvi)

Weibliche Person of Color ist von der Seite bis zur Hüfte zu sehen. Gianni Maes Blickrichtung ist nach links, sie hat die Augen geschlossen, den Mund leicht geöffnet. Auf ihrer linken Wange ist ein Leberfleck zu sehen, auf ihrer Stirn eine Art schwarzer Halbmond mit nach oben geöffneter Sichel. Ihre rechtes Handgelenk ruht auf ihrem Kopf, so dass die Hand, mit sehr langen, goldfarbenen Fingernägeln hinter dem linken Ohr herunterhängt. Ihre anderen Handfläche liegt auf dem Brustkorb direkt unter dem Hals, ihre Fingerspitzen und Fingernägel berühren ihren Hals. Am Zeigefinger trägt sie einen goldenen Ring, am Handgelenk ein goldenes, breites Armband. Sie trägt ein Oberteil mit verschiedenen Mustern in Braun, Beige, Weiß und Grau aus einem leichten Tuchstoff mit langen Ärmeln. Ihre linke Schulter ist unbedeckt. Gianni Maes Haare sind schwarz und fransig geschnitten, am Nacken reichen sie bis zu den Schultern. Sie trägt einen gold-blauen länglichen Ohrring. Links neben ihr ist die Lehne eines antiken Stuhls zu sehen. In der Unschärfe ist im Hintergrund eine rotbraune getäfelte Holztür erkennbar.
Gianni Mae (Creative Direction: Djodjo Pongo; Foto: Marvin Kponvi)
> Tickets

Gianni Mae

Gianni Mae ist in der ganzen Welt zu Hause. Anfang der Neunzigerjahre im karibischen Curaçao geboren, gründet sie dort zunächst mit zwei Freundinnen das Trio Diva Squad, bei dem sie auf ihrer Muttersprache Papiamentu rappt. Doch mit 18 Jahren verlässt sie die Insel, studiert Medizin, landet irgendwann in Berlin. Hier tut sie sich mit den Trap-Pionieren des Produzenten-Duos Broke Boys zusammen und gilt inzwischen längst selbst als Trap-Queen der Stadt. Ihren Songs hört man die Einflüsse karibischer Künstlerkolleg*innen wie Rihanna, Sean Paul, Alison Hinds und Shakira bis hin zu Hip-Hop-Stars wie OutKast, Pharrell Williams, Missy Elliot und Nicki Minaj an und doch haben sie einen ganz eigenen Sound: mitreißend und hypnotisierend, sensibel und tiefgründig, inspirierend und international.

Weibliche Person of Color ist von der Seite bis zur Hüfte zu sehen. Gianni Maes Blickrichtung ist nach links, sie hat die Augen geschlossen, den Mund leicht geöffnet. Auf ihrer linken Wange ist ein Leberfleck zu sehen, auf ihrer Stirn eine Art schwarzer Halbmond mit nach oben geöffneter Sichel. Ihre rechtes Handgelenk ruht auf ihrem Kopf, so dass die Hand, mit sehr langen, goldfarbenen Fingernägeln hinter dem linken Ohr herunterhängt. Ihre anderen Handfläche liegt auf dem Brustkorb direkt unter dem Hals, ihre Fingerspitzen und Fingernägel berühren ihren Hals. Am Zeigefinger trägt sie einen goldenen Ring, am Handgelenk ein goldenes, breites Armband. Sie trägt ein Oberteil mit verschiedenen Mustern in Braun, Beige, Weiß und Grau aus einem leichten Tuchstoff mit langen Ärmeln. Ihre linke Schulter ist unbedeckt. Gianni Maes Haare sind schwarz und fransig geschnitten, am Nacken reichen sie bis zu den Schultern. Sie trägt einen gold-blauen länglichen Ohrring. Links neben ihr ist die Lehne eines antiken Stuhls zu sehen. In der Unschärfe ist im Hintergrund eine rotbraune getäfelte Holztür erkennbar.
Gianni Mae (Creative Direction: Djodjo Pongo; Foto: Marvin Kponvi)