A female person sits broad-legged on a chair, looking directly into the camera. She wears a blue headscarf tied at the nape of her neck. She puts her right hand to her face, her little and ring fingers are bent under her nose, and she leans her index and middle fingers against her temples. The person wears a green sleeveless and cropped top, black pants, two wide belts, bracelets covering her right forearm almost to the elbow, two necklaces with large links on her neck. Tattoos are visible on the arms and neck.
Alewya (Photo: Joseph Enchenique)
Wednesday, 24.8.2022
21:20 – 22:20, Kesselhaus
> Tickets

Alewya

In Alewya’s work, there are lots of things coming together. Born in Saudi Arabia to an Egyptian father and an Ethiopian mother, the British musician lived in an international diaspora community in London, and unsurprisingly, she brings influences from all over the world into her music. The singer/songwriter, producer and artist – who has also worked as a sculptor, animator of short films and illustrator – mixes trap instrumentals, dub and drum’n’bass with Afrobeats, always with a message of women’s emancipation. Danceable, but also melancholic. Euphoric, but also angry. Her tracks want us to move, but more than that: to feel. And they work like a charm.

A female person sits broad-legged on a chair, looking directly into the camera. She wears a blue headscarf tied at the nape of her neck. She puts her right hand to her face, her little and ring fingers are bent under her nose, and she leans her index and middle fingers against her temples. The person wears a green sleeveless and cropped top, black pants, two wide belts, bracelets covering her right forearm almost to the elbow, two necklaces with large links on her neck. Tattoos are visible on the arms and neck.
Alewya (Photo: Joseph Enchenique)

Eine weiblich gelesene Person sitzt breitbeinig auf einem Stuhl, schaut direkt in die Kamera. Sie trägt ein blaues Kopftuch, das am Nacken gebunden wurde. Sie fässt sich mit ihrer rechten Hand ins Gesicht, dabei sind kleiner und Ringfinger unter der Nase angewinkelt, Zeige- und Mittelfinger lehnt sie an ihre Schläfe. Die Person trägt ein grünes ärmelloses und bauchfreies Oberteil, eine schwarze Hose, zwei breite Gürtel, Armbänder, die ihren rechten Unterarm fast bis zum Ellbogen bedecken, zwei Ketten mit großen Gliedern am Hals. An Armen und Hals sind Tätowierungen zu sehen.
Alewya (Foto: Joseph Enchenique)
> Tickets

Alewya

Bei Alewya kommt einiges zusammen. Die britische Musikerin, die in Saudi-Arabien als Tochter eines ägyptischen Vaters und einer äthiopischen Mutter geboren wurde, lebte in einer internationalen Diaspora-Gemeinschaft in London und bringt auch in ihre Musik Einflüsse aus aller Welt ein. Die Singer/Songwriterin, Produzentin und Künstlerin, die bereits als Bildhauerin, Animatorin von Kurzfilmen oder Illustratorin arbeitete, mischt in ihren Club-Tracks Trap-Instrumentals, Dub und Drum‘n‘Bass mit Afrobeats – immer unter dem Zeichen der weiblichen Emanzipation. Tanzbar, aber auch melancholisch. Euphorisch, aber auch wütend. Sie will nicht nur, dass wir uns bewegen, sondern auch dabei spüren. Und das klappt wunderbar.

Eine weiblich gelesene Person sitzt breitbeinig auf einem Stuhl, schaut direkt in die Kamera. Sie trägt ein blaues Kopftuch, das am Nacken gebunden wurde. Sie fässt sich mit ihrer rechten Hand ins Gesicht, dabei sind kleiner und Ringfinger unter der Nase angewinkelt, Zeige- und Mittelfinger lehnt sie an ihre Schläfe. Die Person trägt ein grünes ärmelloses und bauchfreies Oberteil, eine schwarze Hose, zwei breite Gürtel, Armbänder, die ihren rechten Unterarm fast bis zum Ellbogen bedecken, zwei Ketten mit großen Gliedern am Hals. An Armen und Hals sind Tätowierungen zu sehen.
Alewya (Foto: Joseph Enchenique)