Collage of three photos side by side shows three people. They are in this order from left to right:, Mary Ocher, Sydney Christensen, Ariana Zustra. Mary Ocher is seen in a black and white portrait in half-profile facing left to just below the chest. The young woman wears a voluminous fur jacket with a dark dress underneath, a long necklace lies over the dress. Mary Ocher looks into the camera with an implied smile, large horn-rimmed glasses on her nose. She wears her blonde long hair down, bangs covering her forehead. Sydney Christensen looks into the camera with closed lips slightly turned to the right in half profile. She has short brown hair and wears a white collared shirt buttoned to the top. Ariana Zustra looks head-on into the camera in a portrait up to her chest. She wears a black and white striped top, black horn-rimmed glasses with round lenses, and open reddish hair down to her shoulders and bangs. She looks head-on into the camera, her red painted lips closed.
Mary Ocher, Sydney Christensen, Ariana Zustra
Thursday, 25.8.2022
19:00 – 19:40, Haus für Poesie
> Tickets

»A Record Label (What is it good for?)« (En)

Ariana Zustra (Moderation), Mary Ocher, Sydney Christensen

What is the significance of a record company nowadays? For example, do labels still play a role in the foundation of an artistic identity? Do artists still need to present their content in an album format, or are a few songs on Spotify enough? In this talk, representatives of different record labels will exchange viewpoints on the topic. Musician Mary Ocher’s Underground Institute offers a platform for experimental music with a vast majority of female artists. Working for the US label Kill Rock Stars (Bikini Kill, Elliott Smith, Gossip, et al.) Sydney Christensen knows what the scene in North America is like. The talk will be hosted by Ariana Zustra, who has had her own experiences with labels both as a music journalist and as a musician.

Unfortunately, musician and label owner Marc Hollander had to cancel his Pop-Kultur participation because a band member is suffering from severe consequences of a Covid disease.

Collage of three photos side by side shows three people. They are in this order from left to right:, Mary Ocher, Sydney Christensen, Ariana Zustra. Mary Ocher is seen in a black and white portrait in half-profile facing left to just below the chest. The young woman wears a voluminous fur jacket with a dark dress underneath, a long necklace lies over the dress. Mary Ocher looks into the camera with an implied smile, large horn-rimmed glasses on her nose. She wears her blonde long hair down, bangs covering her forehead. Sydney Christensen looks into the camera with closed lips slightly turned to the right in half profile. She has short brown hair and wears a white collared shirt buttoned to the top. Ariana Zustra looks head-on into the camera in a portrait up to her chest. She wears a black and white striped top, black horn-rimmed glasses with round lenses, and open reddish hair down to her shoulders and bangs. She looks head-on into the camera, her red painted lips closed.
Mary Ocher, Sydney Christensen, Ariana Zustra

Collage aus drei Fotos nebeneinander zeigt als Frauen gelesene Personen. Es sind in dieser Reihenfolgen von links nach rechts: Mary Ocher, Sydney Christensen, Ariana Zustra. Mary Ocher ist in einem schwarz-weiß Porträt im Halbprofil nach links gewandt bis kurz unter der Brust abgebildet. Sie trägt eine voluminöse Pelzjacke mit einem dunklen Kleid darunter, über dem Kleid liegt eine lange Kette. Mary Ocher schaut mit angedeutetem Lächeln in die Kamera, eine große Hornbrille auf der Nase. Ihre blonden, langen Haare trägt sie offen, ein Pony bedeckt ihre Stirn. Sydney Christensen schaut mit geschlossenen Lippen leicht nach rechts gewandt im Halbprofil in die Kamera. Sie hat kurze, braune Haare und trägt ein weißes Hemd mit Kragen, das sie bis oben zugeknöpft hat. Ariana Zustra schaut frontal in einem Porträt bis zur Brust in die Kamera. Sie trägt ein schwarz-weiß gestreiftes Top, eine schwarze Hornbrille mit runden Gläsern und offene, rötliche Haare bis zu den Schultern und einen Pony. Sie schaut frontal in die Kamera, die rot geschminkten Lippen geschlossen.
Mary Ocher, Sydney Christensen, Ariana Zustra
Donnerstag, 25.8.2022
19:00 – 19:40, Haus für Poesie
> Tickets

»A Record Label (What is it good for?)« (En)

Ariana Zustra (Moderation), Mary Ocher, Sydney Christensen

Welche Bedeutung haben Plattenfirmen heutzutage noch? Spielen sie noch eine Rolle, wenn es darum geht, eine künstlerische Identität aufzubauen? Brauchen und wollen Künstler*innen noch ein Album, um inhaltliche Zusammenhänge darzustellen oder reichen ein paar Songs auf Spotify? In dem Talk »A Record Label (What is it good for?)« tauschen sich Vertreter*innen unterschiedlicher Plattenfirmen aus. Musikerin Mary Ocher bietet mit ihrem Underground Institute eine Plattform für experimentelle Musik, die vor allem von weiblichen Künstler*innen genutzt wird. Sydney Christensen arbeitet für das US-Label Kill Rockstars (u. a. Bikini Kill, Elliott Smith, Gossip) und weiß, wie die Situation in Amerika aussieht. Moderiert wird der Talk von Ariana Zustra, die als Musikjournalistin und als Musikerin eigene Erfahrungen mit Musiklabels machen durfte.

Leider musste Musiker und Labelbetreiber Marc Hollander seine Teilnahme an Pop-Kultur absagen, da ein Bandmitglied unter schweren Folgen einer Covid-Erkrankung leidet.

Collage aus drei Fotos nebeneinander zeigt als Frauen gelesene Personen. Es sind in dieser Reihenfolgen von links nach rechts: Mary Ocher, Sydney Christensen, Ariana Zustra. Mary Ocher ist in einem schwarz-weiß Porträt im Halbprofil nach links gewandt bis kurz unter der Brust abgebildet. Sie trägt eine voluminöse Pelzjacke mit einem dunklen Kleid darunter, über dem Kleid liegt eine lange Kette. Mary Ocher schaut mit angedeutetem Lächeln in die Kamera, eine große Hornbrille auf der Nase. Ihre blonden, langen Haare trägt sie offen, ein Pony bedeckt ihre Stirn. Sydney Christensen schaut mit geschlossenen Lippen leicht nach rechts gewandt im Halbprofil in die Kamera. Sie hat kurze, braune Haare und trägt ein weißes Hemd mit Kragen, das sie bis oben zugeknöpft hat. Ariana Zustra schaut frontal in einem Porträt bis zur Brust in die Kamera. Sie trägt ein schwarz-weiß gestreiftes Top, eine schwarze Hornbrille mit runden Gläsern und offene, rötliche Haare bis zu den Schultern und einen Pony. Sie schaut frontal in die Kamera, die rot geschminkten Lippen geschlossen.
Mary Ocher, Sydney Christensen, Ariana Zustra